You eat vegetables, I eat nothing.

I pour my soul into the sky,

You plant yours in the earth.

I rain down anywhere you want

 

I pour my soul into the sky,

The night draws me out

I rain down anywhere you want

You empty your pockets, dirt and dust

 

The night draws me out,

The morning can wait, forever

You empty your pockets, dirt and dust

I will be fragile, but I am sand before glass.

 

The morning can wait, forever

I will carry you around and eat your secrets,

I will be fragile, but I am sand before glass

we become earth, but love is ruthless.

 

I will carry you around and eat your secrets.

You harvest and replenish,

We become earth, but love is ruthless.

You eat vegetables, I eat nothing.

One thought on “Sassafras (a pantoum)

Leave a Reply

