New Albums to Look Out For this Year

Fleet Foxes – Crack-Up (June 16, 2017)

Finally, this album comes off of like 6 years of no music from the Fleet Foxes. I listened to the album preview (below) and so far every song sounds amazing. Super excited for this to come out, super bummed I won’t get to see them play this year. It’s a mix of vintage sounding, folk-y music with incredible reverberating harmonies and instrumentation. Gorgeous music, feels like warm weather on your skin.

Feist – Pleasure (April 28, 2017)

I’m really not sure what to expect with this album, but I can only assume it’s going to be good. Metals came out in 2011 and was my favourite album that she’s ever made so I hope this one stacks up. The title track starts slow but it’s worth the wait for it to build up. I swear at 1:52 it’s like you’re listening to The Kills all of the sudden.

Alt-J – Relaxer (June 2, 2017)

In my opinion Alt-J is one of the most unique bands out there, honestly. Such a distinctly weird sound. The new track’s video has some glitchy, arcade-game-esque footage, and this song’s a slow burner that kind of relaxes me. Whatever they put out, I’m sure it’s going to be amazing.

 

Animal Teeth – ??? (???)

I’ve been hearing rumours of new Animal Teeth music through the grapevine. Don’t know when but I hope to hell it’s soon. Loving all the new songs they’ve been playing at shows in Winnipeg, and I’m looking forward to having my own copy of them. Here’s the most recent album.

Mac DeMarco – This Old Dog (May 5, 2017)

This is the first proper full album from Mac since Salad Days and I like where it’s headed. Another One felt a little too flimsy and experimental to me. It didn’t have those catchy-as-hell songs like “Ode to Viceroy” or the “Salad Days” title track. I’m excited for this one either way, but I hope it goes back to a more “percussive and full-guitar sound – Mac”, rather than “synths and odd dreary melodies Mac”.

Gorillaz – Humanz (April 28)

Gorillaz are surging back to relevance all of the sudden with this weird new video, tour dates, and a new album coming out soon. The song comes off like a slightly more modernized Gorillaz sound with those classic, catchy choruses and solid underlying beats that we’ve come to know and love from this awesome cartoon outfit. The Gorillaz are an aesthetic. Ain’t no denying it.

 

 

One thought on “New Albums to Look Out For this Year

  1. Man! Can’t wait. Feist sounds a little more experimental based off her couple singles she released. Don’t think it’ll live up to Metals. Gorillaz is fire. Can’t wait for the full album. Alt-J and Fleet Foxes is gonna be good too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

